All businesses that are located or conduct business within the Puyallup City limits, unless exempt, are required to obtain a license to operate. Some businesses, however, may be exempt from licensing fees and requirements. Please see Puyallup Municipal Code 5.04 for exemptions. The types of business permits and licenses that are issued are below.
General Business Licenses
These are typically for retail-type businesses within the City limits. This also pertains to contractors, subcontractors, and home-based businesses. Please visit our General Business License page for details.
Special Business Licenses and Permits
These are for other types of businesses that are not retail. For example, mobile food vendors, temporary stands, solicitors, and live music venues, will need a Special Business License or Permit. Please visit our page for details.
Special Event Permits
If you are a business or entity wanting to hold a Special event in the city, you will need to get a permit. Please visit our page for details.
Before applying for a City of Puyallup business license, make sure your business is located within the city limits.
You can verify if your business is within City limits by using our interactive map and entering your address. If you are still uncertain, please call the City at (253) 841-5474.
- The City of Puyallup has partnered with the State of Washington Business Licensing Service for the issuance of Puyallup general business licenses.
- Penalties of $250 may be assessed for any business operating without a required license.
- Licenses not renewed within 120 days after expiring are automatically terminated. In these instances, a new application would be required to continue business in Puyallup.
I would like to start a business. What do I need to do?
You will need to contact the Washington State Business Licensing Service for your state licensing requirements. This department will register your business name. Please visit their website to get your license. You will need to determine if you are located within the city limits or reside within Pierce County. If you are within Puyallup city limits you will have to obtain a local license. Business License applications can be found in the "Business" section.
I am a contractor or subcontractor doing business in Puyallup. How do I get my license?
Please go to the Washington State Business License Services website.
How long is my license good for?
You need to renew your business license annually. BLS will send renewal notices six weeks prior to license expiration.
How will I know when to renew my license?
Renewal forms are mailed out six weeks prior to the license expiration date. Licenses that are expired and not renewed after 120 days of the expiration date will be closed.
I recently sold my business. Do I need to notify you?
Notification to the Business License Services allows us to update the business license database indicating the status of your business. You can notify them by visiting their website.
I recently opened a second business location. Do I need to notify you?
Yes. Licenses are issued by location and a separate license is required for each location.
Does the City of Puyallup have a B&O Tax?
No, we do not.
I want to have a parking lot sale. Do I need a permit?
Sales in parking lots are classified as temporary sales and the applicant will need to complete a temporary stand application. These applications are submitted to the City Clerk's Office and reviewed by the Planning Department as well as Central Pierce Fire & Rescue Fire Marshal for regulation compliance. Please visit our Special Business License page for application information.
How long can I operate a temporary stand?
Temporary stands are allowed for up to 30 days per year per site.
Where can I set up my temporary stand?
Stands can only be set up in commercial zones. For a list of commercial zones, please visit our GIS maps page.
I want to operate a stand inside the fairgrounds during the Fair. Do I need a license?
No, not if your stand is located within the fairgrounds. But you will need permission from the Fair to operate one on their property. You can contact the Fair by visiting its website.
I want to park cars on my property during the Fair. Do I need a license?
Yes, you do. You will need a Fair Parking License. If you park 15 or more cars at a time you will need to pay the $37.50 application fee for the license. Please go to our Special Business License page for info.
I want to have a stand at the Farmer's Market or Meeker Days. Do I need a license?
You do not need a license. These events are managed by the Main Street Association. You can visit their website for contact information.
I want to sell food or ice cream from my vehicle. Do I need a license?
Mobile food sales require a mobile food vendor license. This license takes approximately ten working days to process and requires a background check. The cost is $50 per calendar year. All mobile food vendor licenses expire on December 31st. Go to our Special Business License page for our application materials.
I want to go door-to-door selling merchandise. Do I need a license?
Door-to-door sales require a solicitor's license. This license takes approximately ten working days to process and requires a background check. The cost is $50 per year. All solicitor's licenses expire on December 31st. Go to our Special Business License page to apply for a Solicitor's License.
I want to pass out flyers. Do I need a permit?
Yes. This type of activity requires a bill poster license. The fee is $10 per day (per person) and takes 24-48 hours to process. Go to our Special Business License page to apply for a Bill Poster License.
I want to have a garage sale. Do I need a permit?
No, but garage sales are limited to four weekends per year.
I make arts and crafts at home that I sell at the Farmer's Market. Do I need a business license?
No, as long as you are not selling items out of your home, you do not need a license.