What are the different levels of advancements in the reserve program?
The Puyallup Police Reserve program has three levels of advancement.
- A level 1 reserve officer is someone that is currently in the reserve academy.
- Upon graduation from the academy the reserve officer enters our training program and becomes a level 2 reserve officer.
- After one year of service or 400 training hours (whichever comes first) an officer can test for level 3 status. A level 3 reserve will be able to preform duties as a regular police officer without restrictions. Examples of duties that can be completed include:
- Completing prisoner transports without a full time officer working with them.
- Conducting traffic control at accident scenes.
- Standing by for tow trucks, parents, or other situations where an officer is needed, but is not likely to be placed in a confrontational situation.
- Completing phone reports.
- Taking reports in the field such as lost property, malicious mischief, runaway calls, animal complaints, and vehicle prowls.
- Conducting traffic enforcement.

Show All Answers

1. Why become a Puyallup Police Reserve Officer?
2. Do reserve officers get paid?
3. What equipment is provided by the department?
4. What are the different levels of advancements in the reserve program?
5. What is the minimum number of hours a Puyallup Reserve Officer must serve every month?
6. What if you want to become a full time officer?
7. Do Puyallup reserve officers get civil service points when testing for entry level police officer?
8. What do I need to know about the Reserve Academy?
9. If I complete the reserve academy would I have to still attend the regular academy if I was hired?